Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 26, 2024

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Appropriations Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Appropriations Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We thank you for your leadership in supporting robust funding for Alzheimer's research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). We write to request a \$318 million increase in funding for Alzheimer's research at NIH in FY 2025, as compared to the FY 2024 level of more than \$3.8 billion.

Alzheimer's has reached crisis proportions in the United States. It was the fifth leading cause of death among people age 65 and older in 2021, and while promising scientific research is ongoing, there is still no cure and no means of preventing Alzheimer's. Nearly 7 million Americans age 65 and older are living with Alzheimer's, and that number is expected to increase exponentially as the baby boom generation ages. By 2050, the number of people age 65 and older with Alzheimer's could reach nearly 13 million in the absence of medical breakthroughs that would prevent or cure the disease. Furthermore, in 2024, Alzheimer's and other dementias are projected to cost our nation an estimated \$360 billion in health care and long term care expenses, including \$231 billion in Medicare and Medicaid payments. At the current rate, the cost of care for these tragic conditions will reach nearly \$1 trillion by 2050.

Our nation is at a crossroads. We must act now to change the trajectory of this disease.

We therefore urge you to provide a \$318 million increase in FY 2025 NIH research funding for Alzheimer's Disease including Alzheimer's Disease Related Dementias (AD/ADRD). We thank you for your attention to our concerns, and we look forward to working with you to invest in research that will lead to a cure for this devastating disease.

Sincerely,

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Papine Waters

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress Elise M. Stefank

Elise M. Stefank

Member of Congress

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

John Rose

Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Yvette D. Clarke
Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Joaquin Castro

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Paul Tonko Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress Chell R Chellie Pingree

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland

Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Bill Foster Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Jahana Hayes
Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress Sheria Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Scion of the Enslaved Africans -Sacrificed to Make America Great Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress Bill Pascrell, Jr.
Member of Congress

oyce Beatt

Member of Congress

1. 0

Member of Congress

Angie Craig
Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Jim Himes

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Seth Moulton

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Troy Carter

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon

Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

André Carson

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer

Member of Congress

Menn Ivey