## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 22, 2023

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Related Agencies United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Ranking Member
Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor,
Health and Human Services, Education, and
Related Agencies Related Agencies
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chair Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro,

Alzheimer's disease is a devastating condition affecting millions of families across our nation. In 2018, Congress acted decisively to address this important issue through the passage of the Building Our Largest Dementia (BOLD) Infrastructure for Alzheimer's Act (P.L. 115-406). This strong bipartisan law authorizes \$100 million over five years for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to build a robust Alzheimer's and other dementias public health infrastructure across the country. We urge you to continue to provide significant investments for the fifth year of BOLD's implementation at CDC in Fiscal Year (FY) 2024.

More than 6 million Americans age 65 and older are currently living with Alzheimer's. Unfortunately, this number is projected to increase to nearly 13 million by 2050, making investments in this programming much more critical. As scientists continue to search for a way to cure or slow the progression of Alzheimer's through medical research, early detection and intervention programming plays a central role in promoting population-level improvements that will lead to long-term cognitive function in addition to targeted patient care interventions, and ultimately improve the overall quality of life for patients living with this treacherous disease.

The BOLD Infrastructure for Alzheimer's Act provides this crucial investment by establishing Alzheimer's and Related Dementias Public Health Centers of Excellence across the country and funding state, local, and tribal public health departments to increase early detection and diagnosis, reduce risk, prevent avoidable hospitalizations, reduce health disparities, support the needs of caregivers, and support care planning for people living with the disease. The law also aims to increase the analysis and timely reporting of data, which is important to identify opportunities for more targeted health care interventions, tracking progress in the health care system's response to Alzheimer's Disease, and helping to promote more informed public policy decisions. Ultimately, the important policies and continued investments by Congress in BOLD Infrastructure for Alzheimer's Act programming can help individuals with Alzheimer's to live in their homes longer and potentially delay costly long-term nursing home care.

The funding increases appropriated for BOLD's implementation over the years continue to be meaningful steps forward and have allowed CDC to award funding to three Public Health Centers of Excellence and 23 public health departments. While this funding is an important step

forward, we ask that you appropriate \$35 million for FY24 in order to help our health care system effectively address the growing needs of Alzheimer's patients and their families.

Thank you for your time and attention to this important bipartisan request to fund BOLD's fifth year of implementation within the CDC.

Sincerely,

Paul Tonko

Member of Congress

Brett Guthrie

Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici

Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Jos<mark>h</mark> Gottheimer

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell

Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett
Member of Congress

Ji Tokuda Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis

Ake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Don Bacon

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Brian Higgins

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Mart.

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Stacey E/Plaskett Member of Congress

John Rose Member of Congress

She ON Rose

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury
Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Robin L. Kelly
Member of Congress

Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress Angie Craig
Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress Becca Balint

Becca Balint
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Chell R

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jany

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Hillary 7. Scholten Member of Congress

Mamie Raskin
Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson

Member of Congress

ames A Himes Member of Congress Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Seth Magaziner
Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress Pana Dollate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

oe Ne<mark>g</mark>use

Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkamp Perez Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress