Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

March 24, 2023

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Appropriations Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human
Services, and Education Appropriations
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We thank you for your leadership in supporting robust funding for Alzheimer's research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). We write to request a \$321 million increase in funding for Alzheimer's research at NIH in FY 2024, as compared to the FY 2023 level of more than \$3.7 billion.

Alzheimer's has reached crisis proportions in the United States. It was the sixth leading cause of death in the United States prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, and while promising scientific research is ongoing, there is still no effective treatment, no means of prevention, and no method for slowing the progression of Alzheimer's. More than 6 million Americans age 65 and older are living with Alzheimer's, and that number is expected to increase exponentially as the baby boom generation ages. By 2050, the number of people age 65 and older with Alzheimer's may nearly double, in the absence of medical breakthroughs that would prevent, slow, or cure the disease. Furthermore, in 2022, Alzheimer's and other dementias cost our nation an estimated \$321 billion in health care and long-term care expenses, including \$206 billion in Medicare and Medicaid payments. At the current rate, the cost of care for these tragic conditions will reach nearly \$1 trillion by 2050.

Our nation is at a crossroads. We must act now to change the trajectory of this disease.

We therefore urge you to provide a \$321 million increase in funding for Alzheimer's research in FY 2024 for Alzheimer's Disease including Alzheimer's Disease Related Dementias (AD/ADRD). We thank you for your attention to our concerns, and we look forward to working with you to invest in research that will lead to a cure for this devastating disease.

Sincerely,

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Papine Waters

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Pauls tonles Paul Tonko

Member of Congress

John Garamendi

Member of Congress

trament.

Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

ohn Ow Rose

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Elise M. Stefanik

Elise M. Sofanti

Member of Congress

Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress oyce Beatty
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

, Committee on Ways and Means

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Donald S. Beyer Jt.

Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke
Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress Andy Kim

Member of Congress

Mike Thompson
Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Seth Moulton
Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Wike Ten

Brian Higgins

Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Katie Porter

Member of Congress

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Daye Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Member of C

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

James A. Himes

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar